Rene Wanner's Poster Page

Winners of the 22th International Biennale of Graphic Design Brno 2006

Please see the official Biennale web site or the Call for entries for more information.

The preselection jury (Petr Babak (Chairman), Petr Knobloch (Vice Chairman), Adam Machacek, Babeta Ondrova, Marek Pokorny, Michal Richtr, Jacek Mrowczyk (Poland) ) chose from over 3000 entries by 700 artists from 46 countries. The total of 109 artists from 27 countries were short-listed. Most works come from the Czech Republic (21 contestants), Japan (15 contestants), Switzerland (11 contestants), China (10 contestants) and Iran (8 contestants).

The international jury (Abedini, Reza (Iran); Haloun, Karel (Czech Republic); Machek, Tomas (Czech Republic); Miller, J. Abbott (USA); Ung, Vai-Meng (China); Zask, Catherine (France) ) awarded the following prizes on June 13, 2006:

Grand Prix of the Brno Biennale 2006
Artur Rebelo Liza Ramalho, Portugal

The ICOGRADA Excellence Award
Pazu Lee Ka Ling, China

Design Prestige International Award for Design
Martin Woodtli, Switzerland

Main Award
Okamoto Shigeo, Japan

Corporate Identity, Promotional and Advertising Graphics
Main Award
not awarded

The Minister of Culture of the Czech Republic Award
Urs Lehni, Switzerland

The Alphonse Mucha Prize for Poster
Michel Bouvet, France

The Mayor of the City of Brno Award
Nojiri Daisaku, Japan

The Union of Visual Artists of the Czech Republic Award
Iyama Koji, Japan

The Prague TypoDesignClub Award
Tomas Brousil, Czech Republic

Here are some of the winning posters:

Artur Rebelo & Liza Ramalho

Pazu Lee Ka Ling

Martin Woodtli

Shigeo Okamoto

Michel Bouvet

Nojiri Daisaku

home     more winners  page created on June 15, 2006 / this section is part of Rene Wanner's Poster Page /